Hands-On: VR Haptics with Ultrasonic Speakers



Published
We go hands-on with the Emerge Wave 1, a haptic feedback device that uses ultrasonic speakers to create the sensation of touch for VR games and social experiences. Paired with the native hand-tracking of a Quest 2 headset, we're able to feel gestures and actions we make over the Wave 1 without any need for gloves or handheld controllers. We chat with Emerge's co-founders about ultrasonics technology and how they envision these devices being used in the future.

Emerge Wave 1 Kickstarter campaign: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/emergehome/emerge-home-a-social-vr-experience-you-can-feel

Shot by Josh Self and edited by Norman Chan
Additional footage courtesy of Emerge

Join this channel to support Tested and get access to perks:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiDJtJKMICpb9B1qf7qjEOA/join

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: https://tested-store.com

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=testedcom
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/testedcom/
Discord: https://www.discord.gg/tested
Amazon Storefront: http://www.amazon.com/shop/adamsavagestested
Savage Industries T-shirts: https://cottonbureau.com/stores/savage-merchandising#/shop

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Josh Self http://www.mrjoshself.com
Jen Schachter http://www.jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman https://youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney https://www.youtube.com/brokennerd
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman

Thanks for watching!
Category
Audio
Be the first to comment