Raja Pervez Ashraf elected NA speaker unopposed

Raja Pervez Ashraf elected NA speaker unopposed

ISLAMABAD: PPP's Raja Pervez Ashraf was elected unopposed as the speaker of the National Assembly Saturday, with PTI leader Qasim Suri resigning from the office of the deputy speaker, hours before a no-confidence motion was scheduled to be tabled against him.

The NA speaker's office fell vacant on April 9 when PTI’s Asad Qaiser resigned, stating that he can not hold voting on the no-confidence against the then-prime minister Imran Khan, which he said, was a part of a “foreign conspiracy” against the PTI government.

PPP’s Ashraf took oath as the NA speaker shortly after being elected unopposed as no other member submitted nomination papers.

Talking to the media after the surprise development, PML-N leader and member panel of chairmen, Ayaz Sadiq said there's no need for voting on the motion now. He stated that the courts have specified the resignation process according to which it is to be presented to the speaker in presence of witnesses.

Watch Geo News LiveStream: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrrpR7zjFpU

For More Videos Subscribe - https://www.youtube.com/geonews
Visit our Website for More Latest Update - https://www.geo.tv/

Be the first to comment